Skip to content

Forever In Neverland

July 25, 2011

You guys, I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m never, EVER, going to grow up.
 
 

Exhibit One: My Bedroom

 
 
I think it's awesome! :D
 
 
I go through my stuff all the time, trying to get rid of things I really don’t need, and I end up throwing away all the things I’ve collected recently and hanging onto things I got when I was between the ages of 3 and 13.
 
 
At least my mom can be sure there’s no sex happening in there.
 
 

Exhibit Two: My Bookshelf

 
 
I recently reordered it so that my favorite and most reread books are at eye level.
 
 
It looks so much more organized in cartoon form...
 
 
I consider myself a fairy intelligent young woman who makes good choices.
 
 
…Really, I do.
 
 

Exhibit Three: My Diet

 
 
I order from the kids’ menu. And if they won’t let me? I order side dishes like mashed potatoes or mac and cheese. God forbid I eat vegetables in public… I tend to make a very distinctive and readily mocked kid face.
 
 
You know the one I’m talking about. Like when a kid tries a new veggie? That face they make as they bite in and strongly dislike what they’ve discovered but know they can’t get out of it so they try and contain their disgust but haven’t yet mastered the art of masking their emotions?
 
 
I bet he's eating cauliflower.
 
 
Yeah, that one.
 
 
I would sooo rather bear the ridicule of ordering from a children’s menu than look depressed and constipated.
 
 

Exhibit Four: The Future

 
 
I was talking to my mom’s friend when he asked me about my plans for the future. I immediately responded with the parent-directed speech about my majors, my minors, my extracurriculars and honors, when he looked at me and said, “But what about after college?”
 
 
And thank God I stopped myself, because the first thing that popped into my head was “I want to be a princess, of course!”
 
 
I'm a princess!!!
 
 
It’s okay – I don’t know about me either.
 
 
So then I shoved some food in my mouth (what I would have given for a Twix) so I could have some time to really think about it, and I knew I wanted to be a writer. But then my next thought was, ‘How the Hell am I going to afford my stuffed animals and teen novels and picky diet as a writer?!’ And there I was back at the princess idea.
 
 
So… what’s the chance you guys know any available princes my age? Because otherwise I’m pretty much screwed.
 
 
 
By the way, I’m back. 🙂
 
 

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2011 7:57 pm

    I refuse to grow up … I will hold on to childhood things and desires as long as possible!

    • August 1, 2011 8:37 am

      You do that, and I’ll do it with you! By the way, you need to post something. I miss Absurdrambling 😦

  2. July 28, 2011 9:44 am

    Welcome back Emily 🙂

    Do you know why I become a high school teacher? because I want to hang out with those kids for the rest of my life…so,in away,I don’t want to grow up as well 😉

    Price harry of England is still single,if you are interested

    • August 1, 2011 8:33 am

      Ah, yes, but he has Chelsy – I think if Kate has anything to do with it they will be together! Also, I’m terrified of the Queen. Great idea with teaching high school though! I’ve actually wanted to teach high school history for a while now, but we’ll see if that continues on once I’ve graduated. My number one interest is writing and illustrating! 🙂

  3. July 28, 2011 11:10 am

    Growing up is over-rated!

  4. July 31, 2011 10:53 am

    Em, as you well know, my philosophy is your are only as old as you act….they can not make me grow up!!!! This was cute and you are perfect just the way you are. I LOVE YOU!

  5. August 1, 2011 2:24 am

    Don’t worry about it until you have to. Enjoy college, have some fun and a few heartbreaks, and you’ll be all grown up before you know it. It’ll keep.

    Welcome back! 🙂 🙂

    • August 1, 2011 8:37 am

      Thanks Erin! I’m soooo happy to be back! And I know, it’s very sound advice. It’s just hard to cope and trust in time when I’ve always been mature for my age with a very well defined plan. It feels so strange and open-ended! I suppose that’s more like real life though 😉

  6. August 5, 2011 10:00 am

    “At least my mom can be sure there’s no sex happening in there.”

    Hehe…

  7. lifewith4cats permalink
    August 10, 2011 1:11 am

    and what a way to come back! I laughed several times while reading this!

    From walmart in the night light isle, I just bougt the coolest nightlight. It shoots a circle projection of a princess/castle/ unicorn and its all cartoon-like too. I thought you should know. 🙂 p.s. mu hubby got the outer space night light.

  8. lifewith4cats permalink
    August 10, 2011 1:11 am

    it shows up on the ceiling.

Trackbacks

  1. Forever in Neverland: Part Two « Paroxysm of Outrageous Random News

Leave a Reply

